Shay Park is the final resting place of Shay locomotive #102 which was once owned and operated by the Oregon-American Lumber Company. A trail leading down to a viewing platform next to the creek offers visitors an up close view of salmon on their way through to spawning grounds in the fall.
A small veteran’s memorial is also located in the park. Other historic artifacts include one of the “iron brigs” once belonging to the USS Oregon. The “brig” was used for many years as the city jail. An old steam tractor and a large piece of petrified wood, both found in nearby hills, can also be found in the park.
Built in 1912 for the Western Cooperage Co as #2 at Olney, OR, it was later sold to the Astoria Southern Railway of Astoria. In 1922 the Porter Carstens Logging Co of Estacada, OR purchased the locomotive and then sold it to the Clark County Timber Co of Yacolt, WA. In 1928, the Shay went to Oregon-American at Vernonia as #102.
Oregon-American became part of the Long-Bell Lumber Co in 1953, who then merged in 1956 with the International Paper Co. Retired in 1958, #102 was donated to Vernonia and placed on display.